All news

Sacraments in the Divine Will (Part Two)

The Sacraments in Luisa’s Writings

Leave a comment below

In Luisa’s writings we learn how much Jesus suffers for the offenses, especially for the abuses and profanations of the Sacraments, reduced to mere appearance. And then the spirit of interest of those who administer them.

He feels wounded by everyone – by priests, by devout people, by the secular. Some do not care about them at all, adding scorns; others, who attend them, turn them into a conversation of pleasure; and others, not satisfied in their whims, because of this reach the point of offending Him. How tortured His Heart is in seeing the Sacraments reduced to painted pictures, or like those statues of stone which seem to be alive and operating from afar, but in drawing near them, one begins to discover the deceit. Then, one goes about touching them, and what does he find? Paper, stone, wood - inanimate objects; and here is how they are disenchanted completely. This is how the Sacraments have been reduced for the most part – there is nothing but mere appearance. What to say, then, about those who remain more filthy than clean? And then, the spirit of interest that reigns among the religious – it is something to be wept over! This spirit of interest fills their interior so much that it overflows outside, to the point that the secular themselves feel the stench of it, and scandalized by it, make this the cause for not giving credence to their words.

All this moves the Divine Justice that Luisa is able to placate, by highlighting that there are also many good daughters who receive them with the due dispositions, and who would suffer very much if they could not attend them. For Jesus their number is still too scarce, and He says that their pain will work as reparation for Him, and to make them victims for those who abuse them.

So, the Sacraments, in association with the way they are administered and received, have a direct effect on the Heart of Jesus, which is their life and the source from where they originate. As we have said, they are an effective participation in His divine life, in His grace that must be communicated and received with respect and love, without any interest but His glory and the fulfillment of His Will. Well, since there are few who receive them as Jesus wants, it’s up to us, with His help, to appreciate them, to receive them worthy and to offer ourselves as victims of reparation for those who abuse them.

Continuing in the writings, Jesus sums up the meaning and purpose of the Seven Sacraments,  He describes the moans of the Holy Spirit in each of them and for each of them He requires from Luisa the requital of her love. The Sacraments were instituted in order to continue His Life on earth in the midst of His children. But, His Love is disappointed with this. This is why He feels the necessity of Luisa’s little love that His Will made it great. His love moans and requires the requital in the Sacraments from all those who are called to live in His Will.

Moreover, He asks Luisa not to stop her love and go through all the Tabernacles, through each Sacramental Host, and in each Host she will hear the Holy Spirit moan with unutterable sorrow. The Sacrament of the Eucharist is not only their own life that souls receive, but is His very Life that gives Itself to them. So, the fruit of this Sacrament is to form Jesus’s Life in them, and each Communion serves to make His Life grow, to develop It, in such a way that one may be able to say: ‘I am another Christ’.  But how few take advantage of it. Even more, how many times He descends into hearts and they make Him find the weapons to wound Him, and repeat for Him the tragedy of His Passion. And as the sacramental species are consumed, instead of pressing Him to stay with them, He is forced to leave bathed with tears, crying over His sacramental lot; and He finds no one who calms His crying and His sorrowful moans. If Luisa could break those veils of the Host, which cover Him, she would find Him bathed with crying, knowing the lot that awaits Him in descending into hearts. Therefore, Luisa’s requital of love for each Host needed to be continuous, in order to calm His crying, and to render less sorrowful the moans of the Holy Spirit.

Jesus and the Divine Will await us everywhere, to receive our requital of love and our company. When we fuse ourselves in the Divine Will, we requite the Love and Glory that the Three Divine Persons manifest in Their works: Creation, Redemption, and Sanctification. Luisa has written the way in which the Spirit taught her to do so: first by thanking and glorifying God in His Will for the work of Creation and for the work of Redemption and then, descending to the lowness of the emptiness left by creatures for not having given their requital of love, she puts her "I love you" in all that Jesus did and in the Sacraments He instituted. And as second appeal she must fuse herself in the order of Grace, in everything that the Sanctifier – the Holy Spirit - has done and will do for those who are to be sanctified.

What makes the Sacraments effective is the Divine Will. It is their origin, their explanation, their "soul". It is the origin and the end, It is the substance,  the Sacraments are the means.

Praised be Jesus Christ!


don Carlos Massieu
Would you like to enter a comment? Sign up or do the Login!
Last comments 1 of 1
- 6/26/2017
Amen ! Gracias Padre Carlos.